May 23, 2008

What are we DOING?

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , at 1:35 pm by Jeremy Blount

I don’t know about you, but often I find myself doing the things that I know that I should not be doing.  I am not talking about sin (I find myself doing that to) but the daily activities that others could be doing for the ministry.   See I think we have a high calling to train and develop others.  As Youth Pastors we should make sure that we are spending our time wisely.  I often don’t.

Tim Schmoyer is a young youth pastor who is making a difference in the lives of students and youth pastors.  (Visit his blog and check out some of the neat things that he is doing.  Actually if you have skype you can join him in a group conversation every Friday at 2:00pm. )  Tim wrote a post the other day that I think will encourage you regarding the things that we should be doing.

This post was a great reminder to me that I need to be falling more in love with God personally.  I need to be developing leaders, spending time with students, and be out in the community setting an example for my students and others to follow.  The fun summer activities will not happen unless someone else steps up and helps plan them.   Check out the post from Tim.

Here is how Tim begins his post.

If we’re not careful, a youth pastor’s job description becomes very bloated very quickly, not just with all the stated expectations, but with all the unstated ones, too. Before we know it, we’re juggling so many balls we’re doing nothing but stressing out and ignoring what it is that God actually put us in youth ministry to do in the first place. Most of us seriously need to step back, take a deep breath, and figure out what it is we’re spending all our time on that is truly important and necessary for the ministry that no one else can do but us.  Read the rest here

Leave a Reply

